LunchBox Sessions & DIY Workshops

We hold informal LunchBox sessions about 2 times per month as well as additional special seminars and joint sessions with other groups, where invited speakers share their knowledge and expertise on various health research methodologies and tools from both quantitative and qualitative perspectives.  The LunchBox sessions generally run on Wednesdays from 12-1 pm.

Training sessions focus on providing hands-on applications of research methods.  Participants learn from various researchers of different backgrounds and expertise about latest analysis, findings from methods use, introduction to new and emerging methods and share topics for discussion.

If you would like to be included on our mailing list for these sessions or workshops please sign up here.  If you are a group interested in sharing a session or workshop with us please contact us through email here.

Upcoming LunchBox Sessions and DIY Workshops:

Text Mining and Natural Language Processing – Part 1; Wednesday, June 28, 2017, 12 – 1pm, Rose Room, 3rd Floor TRW

Text Mining and Natural Language Processing – Part 2; Wednesday, July 5, 2017, 12 – 1pm, Rose Room, 3rd Floor TRW

Previous LunchBox Sessions and DIY Workshops:

Towards a broader landscape for economic evaluation – at what cost? Wednesday, May 31, 2017, 12:30-1:30pm, Theatre 2E23, 2nd Floor TRW.

Combination chart review and electronic health data for quality improvement – An audit of implanted device associated infections at the Alberta Children’s Hospital; Wednesday, May 10, 2017, 12- 1pm, Rose Room, 3rd Floor TRW.

Extending the Impact of your Data: Lessons from SAGE, A PolicyWise Data Repository; Wednesday, April 26, 2017, 12 – 1pm, Rose Room, 3rd Floor TRW.

How to meaningfully engage patients in patient-oriented research; Wednesday, March 8. 2017, 12-1pm, Rose Room 3rd Floor, TRW.

A system dynamics approach to system planning and policy making in the Alberta Continuing Care System; Wednesday, March 1, 2017, 12-1pm, Rose Room, 3rd Floor TRW.

CIHR Open Scheme for Funding; Wednesday, February 22, 2017, 12-1pm, Rose Room, 3rd Floor TRW.

Patient’s Transition Across the Continuum of Care; Wednesday, February 15, 2017, 1-2pm, Rose Room, 3rd Floor TRW.

Application of Enterprise Data Tools and Multidimensional Cubes to Facilitate Analysis of Administrative Data; Wednesday, February 8, 2017, 12-1pm, Rose Room, 3rd Floor TRW

I Do Clinical/Health Research, What Can the AbSPORU Data Platform Do For Me? Wednesday, November 9, 2016, 12-1pm, Clara Christie Theatre, Health Sciences Centre

Re-interpreting the Incidence of Adverse Events in the Perinatal Period: Traditional Perinatal Epidemiologic Methods versus the Fetuses-at-Risk Approach; Wednesday, October 12, 2016, 12-1pm, Rose Room, 3rd Floor TRW.

Knowledge Synthesis of National Survey Data Sets, Wednesday, September 28, 2016, 12-1pm, Rose Room, 3rd Floor TRW.

Outcome and Resource Use of Patients with Liver Disease: Analysis of Chinese EMR; Wednesday, September 14, 2016, 12-1pm, Rose Room, 3rd Floor TRW.

Modern Perspectives of Measurement Validation Pertaining to the Use of Patient-Reported Outcome Measures (PROMs); Wednesday, September 7, 2016, 12-1pm, Multi-purpose Room, W21C.

A Clinical Perspective on Collecting Patient-Reported Outcomes at the Point-of-Care for Urinary Incontinence; Tuesday, April 26, 2016, 12-1 pm, Multi-purpose Room, W21C.

Visual Methods in Gender and Health Research; Wednesday, April 20, 2016, 12-1 pm, Rose Room, 3rd Floor TRW

Stem Cell Bioprocess Engineering for Regenerative Medicine Applications; Wednesday, April 6, 2016, 12-1 pm, Rose Room, 3rd Floor TRW

A View From the Top: What it Looks Like When you Listen to Patients; Wednesday, March 23, 2016, 12-1 pm, Rose Room, 3rd Floor TRW

My Journey with Tableau at AHS; Wednesday, March 16, 2016, 12-1pm, Rose Room, 3rd Floor TRW.

Randomization Methods in the ESCAPE Trial; Tuesday, February 26, 12-1 pm, Multi-purpose Room, W21C.

Clinical Practice Guidelines Development Methods; Wednesday, February 3, 11 am-12 pm, Rose Room, 3rd Floor TRW.

Privacy Preserving Administrative Data Linkage Across Multiple Sectors; Wednesday, January 20, 12-1 pm, Rose Room, 3rd Floor TRW.

Helping Alberta Health Services See & Understand Electronic Health Record data; Wednesday, January 13, 12-1 pm, Rose Room, 3rd Floor TRW.

Risky Business: Creating & Evaluating Risk Scores; Wednesday, December 2, 12-1 pm, Rose Room, 3rd Floor TRW.

Public Health Data: Evidence for Action; Wednesday, November 18, 12-1 pm, Rose Room, 3rd Floor TRW

Geography of Health & Information Systems in Health Research; Wednesday, November 4, 12-1 pm, Rose Room, 3rd Floor TRW.

Leveraging Pharmacy Data to Understand Alberta Health Care; Wednesday, October 28, 12-1 pm, Fisher and Snow Rooms, 3rd Floor TRW.

Development of a Soft-Computing Model for Early Differential Diagnosis of Tropical Confusable Diseases; Wednesday, October 14, 12-1 pm, W21C Multipurpose room TRW.

Qualitative Research: Some Tricks of the Trade; Wednesday, October 7, 12-1 pm, ROSE room 3rd Floor TRW.

Meta-Analysis of Proportions: Methods for Sparse Data; Monday, September 28, 12-1 pm, ROSE room 3rd Floor TRW.

Advanced Meta-Analysis Course; Monday, September 14 & Monday, September 21, 9am-5:30 pm; ROSE room 3rd Floor TRW.

Machine Learning & Data Mining Workshop Monday, August 17 & Monday, August 24 9am-12pm   Room changed to: W21C Multipurpose room TRW

Quantifying bias and precision in method comparison studies Thursday August 27th 12-1pm W21C Multipurpose room TRW

The Network Structure of Psychopathological Concepts Friday August 7th 12-1pm ROSE room TRW special joint session with the Mathison Centre for Mental Health Research & Education

3 thoughts on “LunchBox Sessions & DIY Workshops

Share your thoughts with us

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s